All Hazards Council

Georgia has well-established and highly practiced mechanisms in place to respond to disasters and other large scale emergencies. However, in the wake of the terrorist attacks against the United States in 2001, it became evident that federal, state, and local emergency responders and government officials would be more capable of rapidly and effectively responding to large-scale disasters through better planning and communication. To improve communication and help fight terrorism at the local level, the Georgia Emergency Management and Homeland Security Agency has organized Regional All Hazards Councils, established within the eight existing GEMA/HS regions consistent with the current state and local government disaster/ emergency response system. 

These councils bring together community leaders and key consequence managers to develop preparedness, response and recovery strategies for all natural and man-made disasters for their region. Councils are composed of two of each of the following: 9-1-1 center directors, county commissioners, emergency managers, emergency medical service directors, fire chiefs, mayors, police chiefs, public health directors, and sheriffs. Additional members may be added as needed.

These eight All Hazards Councils have proven to be a valuable asset to state and local communities in their continuing fight against terrorism and response to other hazards.


For more information on All Hazards Councils, contact:

Judy Gourley
Georgia Emergency Management and Homeland Security Agency
All Hazards Council Program Manager
Phone: (404) 635-7088